Updated: June 13, 2018

The Chicago Biomedical Consortium (CBC), launched with impetus and support from the Searle Funds at The Chicago Community Trust, aims to stimulate collaborative research and training that will transform biomedical research among scientists at the University of Chicago (UChicago), Northwestern University (NU) and the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC).

The CBC has the mission of transforming the conduct of biomedical research and education in the Chicago area in order to promote and enable scientific research of the highest order. It is grounded in the belief that the combined intellectual power of the researchers, educators, and staff of the member institutions must be harnessed to fulfill a vision for Chicago to become a national and international leader in the biomedical sciences.

To fulfill its mission, the CBC organizes a variety of educational programs and events, including the annual symposia, has assisted in faculty recruitment to the CBC universities, provides support for numerous cutting-edge and unique research facilities at the three CBC universities, and offers several competitive award programs. The current and past CBC Award Programs are described below.

Current Award Programs

Milestone-driven award program ($100,000 for 1st year) focused on translational research toward therapeutics or associated biomarkers and diagnostics.
▸ Program description

Catalyst Awards
One-time incentive awards (up to $250,000), focused on basic biological/biomedical with transformative potential, made to teams with principals and other strong representation from at least two of the CBC institutions.
▸ Funded Catalyst Awards

A vital community which convenes to explore and develop CBC-supported translational efforts, including Accelerator Awards and Entrepreneurial Fellows programs.
▸ Program description

Awards to support the professional development of academic biomedical researchers keen to move translational projects from a university lab towards commercialization.
▸ Program description


▸ Past Award Programs