Organization Structure

Updated: Nov. 22, 2019

The CBC program is managed by the Executive Director and the CBC Leadership, which is composed of three Scientific Directors, one from each participating university. Each Scientific Director is appointed by the Provost of his or her institution and requires an approval of the other two Provosts. The Scientific Directors function as a triumvirate, providing overall direction and guidance of the CBC.

▸ CBC Leadership

Day-to-day management of CBC programs rests with an Executive Director, who reports to the CBC Leadership and Provosts. A core Program Management Staff, whose members are distributed among the different CBC campuses, assist with ongoing operations.

▸ CBC Staff Directory

The Provosts of each of the CBC universities (Northwestern University, the University of Chicago, and the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC)) directly oversee the CBC and provide institutional responsibility working primarily through the Executive Oversight Board (EOB). The EOB is a newly established body to provide general oversight of the CBC, holding the Scientific Directors and CBC staff accountable for achieving the goals established for Phase 2. The members of the EOB will also provide guidance and, where possible, assistance, on the major Phase 2 initiatives to expand linkages with the biomedical industry, fundraise, and raise the public profile of the CBC.

▸ CBC Executive Oversight Board (EOB)

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) is a newly established body, resulting from the separation along functional lines of the responsibilities previously vested in the Phase 1 External Advisory Board. Composed of distinguished biomedical scientists from outside of Chicago, the SAB will evaluate annually the scientific agenda and programs of the CBC Phase 2 to assure that the highest scientific standards and that the stature of the CBC as an intellectual leader in scientific circles are maintained.

▸ CBC Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

CBC Programs’ Review Boards

Accelerator LOIs and proposals will be evaluated by the Accelerator Review Board (ARB), composed of representatives from the Pharmaceutical industry, the Universities’ Technology Transfer Offices, and mentors identified from the CBC and its member institutions. The Board will approve projects based on significance, translational potential, marketability of the proposed product, preliminary data, and the soundness of the proposed milestones to discharge key elements of risk.

▸ CBC Accelerator Review Board (ARB)

CBC Catalyst awards are made on the basis of scientific merit and are evaluated by the Catalyst Review Board (CRB; in Phase 1 known as Scientific Review Board, or SRB) composed of equal numbers of scientists from consortium institutions who serve on a volunteer basis. The board advises the Scientific Directors and works closely with the Executive Director to define and implement the specifics of the Catalyst Award program.

▸ CBC Catalyst Review Board (CRB)

CBC Organizational Chart

Updated: Nov. 22, 2019

▸ CBC Organizational Chart